International and National Collaboration

The Industrial Optimization Group takes actively part in international conferences and publishes its results in refereed publications. The group is also represented in the editorial boards of several journals. The group members are active e.g. in the International Society on Multiple Criteria Decision Making (Kaisa Miettinen is the President-Elect of the Society), EUROPT, the EURO Working Group on Continuous Optimization (Kaisa Miettinen is the Vice-Chair of the Working Group), Finnish Operations Research Society and Finnish Society on Computational Sciences. Among others, the group has taken part in organizing the 67th Meeting of the European Working Group "Multiple Criteria Decision Aiding" in Rovaniemi, Finland in April 2008 and the IFAC Workshop on Control Applications of Optimization in May 2009 in Jyväskylä and is heavily involved in organizing the 21st International Conference on Multiple Criteria Decision Making. This conference will be organized on June 13-17, 2011 in Jyväskylä ( Organizing and active participation in the Dagstuhl seminars on Practical Approaches to Multiobjective Optimization and Hybrid and Robust Approaches to Multiobjective Optimization and preparation for the next Dagstuhl seminar are also in the close interests of the group.

The group works in close collaboration with many researchers in Finland and abroad and is a part of many networks including the modeling and simulation technology program of Tekes. In particular, many of the research topics mentioned above have been studied and methods developed in close national and international collaboration. Some of the collaborators are:

  • Prof. Lorenz T. Biegler (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Dr. Jurgen Branke (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Prof. Kalyanmoy Deb (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Drs. Leoneed Kirilov and Mariana Vassileva (Bulgarian Academy of Sciences)
  • Prof. Kathrin Klamroth (University of Wuppertal, Germany)
  • Profs. Pekka Korhonen and Jyrki Wallenius (Helsinki School of Economics, Finland)
  • Prof. Alexander Lotov (Russian Academy of Sciences)
  • Prof. Marko M. Mäkelä (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Prof. Risto Ritala (Tampere University of Technology, Finland)
  • Prof. Francisco Ruiz and Drs. Mariano Luque and Julian Molina (University of Malaga, Spain)
  • Prof. Roman Slowinski (Poznan University of Technology, Poland)
  • Prof. Ralph E. Steuer (University of Georgia, USA)
  • Profs. Lothar Thiele and Eckart Zitzler (ETH, Switzerland)
  • Prof. Margaret Wiecek (Clemson University, USA)

The group has also been involved in researcher exchange. For example, Kerstin Dächert, a doctoral student from the University of Wuppertal, Germany, was recently visiting the group (in August - September 2009).